Turning Back: An Adventurous Story (Chapter 1)

Hello, the Adventurous, I have been working on this for a very long time, so I hope you enjoy it. If you have not read the Teaser to this piece please read that before, as I will pick up after that. Without farther ado, I give you Turning Back: An Adventurous story, By Adventurous Arla.

I couldn’t anything bad happen to Amy. She held alone the key to the treasure of Crimson I. As unlikely as it may seem, a small girl whose father used to be a sailor on a ship called the Nile, which I stand on now, passed away leaving her to sail in his place, held the knowledge of the greatest philosophers.

My attention returned to Henry as he kicked us over to Crimson II. As I walked the board connecting the two ships I left my liberty behind.

Umitatiley we were ordered down to the cabins as they sent British sailors to search the Nile. Many grown men were silently crying for they knew they would never see there wives or children again. The only one who didn’t seem affected was Amy. She stared into blank space thinking about one thing, the treasure. It was the thing she always did when she thought of what would happen when her cousin found it.

Her cousin, Brendon, had a good deal of clues to where the treasure was, although Amy only ever new exactly. If Brendon got his hand on the treasure he would use it to attack countries in order to punish the world for its wrongings. For Brendon, a war and strategy prodigy had become cocky on his own abilities.

Around eleven o’clock, the British sailors came in to rest for the night. Although they were stockily built they seemed worked from unloading cargo all night.

“Aye, you girl, get over to the woman’s cabin!” Shouted a nasty looking man. His naval uniform was stained in various spots, his silver bread was unshaven and his hair stuck out from under his cap, and worst of all he smelt of the putrid waste cities.

Amy figured she was the only one he could be talking to and mightily stood up and gave him an uppercut to the jaw. As the man fell down in what seemed like slow motion, she drove her foot to his stomach and bolted through the entryway. I scrambled behind her with haste but a hand pulled on my collar bringing me to the ground. Henry emerged from his makeshift bed and clambered out of the room after her. What trouble she was in.

Only minutes later Henry returned ordering us to our beds. However, Amy was still somewhere, maybe shot and killed, or simply in the women’s quarters.

My heart raced faster than my mind. I wasn’t thinking about the treasure, I was thinking about Amy and how quickly the British had swept us away from each other. If she was alive, one simple mistake could kill her. The British didn’t need her anyway. But I did.

She grieved when her father died, and I was so tangled in my past that we eventually found each other. After that, we had always been each other’s backbone. We had a special brother-sister kind of love that neither of us ever got to experience anywhere else. Thinking of how warmer I would be with her, I fell asleep in the cold.

 

 

Leave a comment